Taluk Panchayats

Taluk Panchayats are the intermediate tier of the Panchayat Raj Institutions at the taluka level. Since 1999, certain specified development schemes earlier executed by the Zilla Panchayat have been transfered and delegated to the Taluk Panchayats for implementation.

Constitution of Taluk Panchayat

Every Taluk Panchayat shall consist of : (i) the elected members as determined under Section 121; (ii) the members of the House of People and the State Legislative Assembly representing a part or whole of the Taluk, whose constituencies lie within the Taluk; (iii) the members of the Council of States and the State Legislative Council who are registered as electors within the Taluk; and (iv) one-fifth of the Adhyaksha of the Grama Panchayats in the Taluk by rotation for a period of one year as the [Adhyaksha of the Taluk Panchayat] may determine by lot.

List of Taluk Panchayats in Kolar,

1. Kolar

2. Malur

3. Bangarpet

4. KGF

5. Mulbagal

6. Srinivaspur